Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are 60lb injectors needed?

  #1  
Old 10-23-2018, 02:23 PM
2004DaleJr.SS's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: S.Jersey
Posts: 36
Default Are 60lb injectors needed?

Thinking of adding the Cartuning turbo kit, either a ZZP st1 cam or the Intense s1x turbo cam. The Cartuning kit comes with 42lb injectors . Should I just upgrade to the 60lb injectors? Do the 60's have any issues at idle? My plan is to run 14 psi of boost.
Thanks all.
 
  #2  
Old 10-23-2018, 04:42 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

It really depends on tuning, if you don't already have the injectors, you can jump to 60 and just make sure it's tuned for. No sense running your tuning, and seeing that you are close to max and then having to retune from the 42s.
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-2018, 05:16 PM
2004DaleJr.SS's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: S.Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

Thats what I was thinking. Since I plan on running a cam and 15 psi it would be better to run larger injectors. How well do the 60's idle? Even with the car tuned on the dyno after the turbo kit install will the car have any idle issues? I'm hoping to send my car to Cartuning to do the install. So it will be dyno tuned by them for the turbo kit, cam, and injectors.
 

Last edited by 2004DaleJr.SS; 10-23-2018 at 05:25 PM.
  #4  
Old 10-23-2018, 05:19 PM
2004DaleJr.SS's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: S.Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

I should have added, my plans are to make about 350 to 375 whp.
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-2018, 09:49 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,213
Default

IMO I'd go 60#s off the bat. The 42#s definitely work fine for a base turbo kit, but I personally prefer to have room to grow - especially on a turbo setup. The price difference is almost nothing anyways.

The 60#s idle fine if tuned right. Lots of 3800s have run them. I had them on my monte for probably 5 or 6 years before I upgraded to the 110#s.
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-2018, 11:00 AM
2004DaleJr.SS's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: S.Jersey
Posts: 36
Default

That's great news. Thanks for the info.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.