6th Gen ('00-'05): zzp gen 2 front strut tower brace question - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums


Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-25-2018, 02:37 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 205
Question zzp gen 2 front strut tower brace question

hey guys, got a highly modded 03 ss. i still have the factory strut tower brace. i want to install my new gen 2 zzp front tower brace. only problem is, it looks like the factory screws are in the way. the factory screws are currently holding the factory brace and they hold the brace down with nuts. do i cut the screws off? do they push out? is it worth putting on the zzp strut tower brace? thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2018, 07:25 AM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,678
Default

Been a while since I looked at the factory brace (mine did not come with a factory brace). I believe those posts sticking up are connected to a small plate (under the strut tower). When you remove both nuts, they either fall out or there is a small retainer you may need to remove. I know this much, NO cutting is required.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2018, 08:21 AM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 205
Default

so i have to remove the wheels to get under the car and check for a plat on each side? or should tapping lightly with a hammer work? in your opinion, do you think the zzp gen 2 is an upgrade front the factory strut brace i have?

Last edited by 03vaderSS; 08-26-2018 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2018, 11:03 AM
Jeffs02rwdSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Isanti, MN
Posts: 561
Default

If you take the nuts off and smack it with a hammer they should come right out. Are you just replacing the front bar or are you also adding a rear one to the struts in the back ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2018, 11:06 AM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 205
Default

just the front. is the zzp gen2 brace better than the factory? just trying to see if its worth intstalling. i do have upgraded sway bars front and rear as well as bc coilovers. not touching the rear brace, my subs are in the way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:32 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,678
Default

I don't think you need to remove the wheel to get to the plate holding those studs. If you need to look under, you can probably jack the car up and let the wheels hang. It might be as simple as Jeff mentioned, give the studs a smack with a hammer. I removed a couple in the junk yards, but it has been years.

I have ZZP braces in the front and the rear on my Monte. But I don't believe mine are Gen 2. I had to oblong the holes on mine (some how the bolt pattern between the Grand Prix and Monte is just hairs different). In 04, the Monte SS did not come with a factory brace, so I have nothing to compare to. I added the ZZP braces because I felt for the money, it was my best bet and I felt the design looked superior to the factory. I believe it definitely helped in the back end.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2018, 01:42 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 205
Default

so on your 04 you had to adjust the holes on the brace mount to fit? and in your opinion, do you think it would make a difference in the front? i might not even change it

Last edited by 03vaderSS; 08-26-2018 at 01:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2018, 04:12 PM
Jeffs02rwdSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Isanti, MN
Posts: 561
Default

Here's a few pictures of the bolts .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2018, 04:17 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 205
Default

i bet i can tap them out with a hammer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2018, 04:34 PM
Jeffs02rwdSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Isanti, MN
Posts: 561
Default

I believe there's a tin retaining washer that holds them from falling out. Good luck
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.