Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.

Opinion Needed: Rear Struts

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 09:37 PM
Default Rear Struts

Ok so I needed new rear struts because they are rattling in the rear. I do a lot of the work myself usually . The problem I run into tonight is after I put the spring on and the top plate I went to tighten the nut on top and it didnt seem to tighten down all the way. So I figured it was ok and re-installed it. I have a 97 LS btw....I pulled it out of the garage since I just did the right side only tonight. Now with the rattling do I need to change the topplate as well or is there an way to get the top nut tightened? The cylinder shaft just turned when the nut went down so far....So any help would be appreciated,this is my first attempt to change struts and hopefully my last !! lol

Old 04-22-2014, 08:48 AM

Monte Of The Month -- February 2013
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

Originally Posted by Amy J. Kleyla
Ok so I needed new rear struts because they are rattling in the rear. I do a lot of the work myself usually . The problem I run into tonight is after I put the spring on and the top plate I went to tighten the nut on top and it didnt seem to tighten down all the way. So I figured it was ok and re-installed it. I have a 97 LS btw....I pulled it out of the garage since I just did the right side only tonight. Now with the rattling do I need to change the topplate as well or is there an way to get the top nut tightened? The cylinder shaft just turned when the nut went down so far....So any help would be appreciated,this is my first attempt to change struts and hopefully my last !! lol
I take it you didn't use quick struts?

With that thought in mind.... What did you use to compress the springs?

Also did you replace the top plate? How many miles on those struts since they were changed last?....

More than likely....
If you didn't change the top plate... Its worn out....