Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.

hey

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2007, 11:05 PM
Default hey

Im a newb here
but here's my delema

I have a 2001 Monte LS

Im making it a street and track lethal car

Here are the plans
custom roller cams
custom side exhaust (working on that)
custom short intake (next in line)
new brakes
new headers
custom removable roll cage
new rims with racing tires
new shocks and springs
new swaybars
custom body supports
lighten the car

BUT
Im having trouble finding coilovers
it doesnt have to be a coilover kit itself
it can be mixed and matched springs and shocks
Im trying to get adjustable air shocks

Somebody double check me with this next thing
the eibach lowering springs, they are much stiffer correct?

Somebody let me know if they have a solution for me
I especially dont want to do shortcuts if im putting this car on the track

contact me
thanks

-montecarloRacer

Old 09-08-2007, 01:24 AM
Default RE: hey

Hey, welcome to MCF!

Not to be the bearer of bad news, but without any type of forced induction, whether it be a turbo, CSC, etc, even with all of those things you plan on doing, you wont reach more than around 250 horsepower. So your next option is to do a total engine swap to an L67, but even then, your transmission is an 01 LS wont hold up to the abuse.

As far as suspension is concerned, I have heard wonderful things about the Eibach lowering springs, but if you are going that far, you may as well buy some KYB adjustable struts.

Just my $0.02

We ALL look forward to helping you out turning your Monte into a much faster machine.

-Keegan

Old 09-08-2007, 07:04 AM
Monte Of The Month -- March 2007
5 Year Member

hey, welcome to the site, i agree with the above, you need to either turbo your 3.4 or change to the 3.8 supercharged to get the most gain your possibly going to get

Old 09-08-2007, 11:24 AM

Thanks for the advice.....