Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6th Gen ('00-'05): 275/40 R17 tires - Factory rims

  #1  
Old 07-29-2017, 11:09 PM
Ace25's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default 275/40 R17 tires - Factory rims

I know the factory tires for my 05 are 235\55 R17. I'm wondering if anyone has put 275/40 on the same factory rims?

I ran over here and did a comparison: https://tiresize.com/comparison/
They are a little different and I know the speedometer will be off, but I can easily fix that.

Just wondering if anyone has run the 275/40's on stock rims... Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 08-05-2017, 12:39 AM
Ace25's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default

I'm going to need an 8" wide rim for that and factory is 6.5" I think factory offset is 52mm as well.

SOOO I think I'm looking for a 17" x 8" rim in the 5x115 bolt pattern with about a 25 to 35mm offset... ANYONE running a rim like this? recommendations?
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-2017, 06:03 AM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: around cal city,il
Posts: 3,136
Default

I dont see that being possible without some real rubbing issues on the front.. Im running 245/45/18 and my front rubs if im not careful..

I believe im still running stock circumference plus thats less wide than youre wanting to go..

I cant say for sure on this as ive been wrong before..
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-2017, 10:20 AM
turbo monte's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ford city, pa
Posts: 5,055
Default

You can fit a 275/40/17 on the front at least as I ran a set of Hoosier in that size at the track. Im not sure on wheel size of offset but they were mustang bullit wheels.
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-2017, 01:02 PM
Ace25's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default

I have a set of Race Star 17 x 8.0 ET with a 24.5" offset. I can just barely catch an extra long mag nut (with no washer) There is no inner rub with that offset. I can't find any lug nuts that are long enough. Would need to do a fair amount of work and go with longer studs, and then my factory lug nuts wouldn't work... (did I forget to mention, these are drag radials that are the 275/40's ) Won't be running them much on the streets, but having to get to at least 45MPH before WOT kinda stinks with street tires...
 
  #6  
Old 08-16-2017, 03:52 PM
Ace25's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default

@turbo monte, how the ?!?! are you getting 665 WHP ???? What are your ET's on that?
"665whp 584wtq 93 octane+meth 26psi"

Below sounds like your old seutp:
[email protected] 2.3sec 60ft (old setup 384whp)
 
  #7  
Old 08-16-2017, 06:28 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,205
Default

Good call on the wider rim. The stock wheels are too narrow to properly do a 275. Some GP GXP guys run a 275 and I believe that is a 8" wide stock rim. Maybe something to look into if you like that wheels look.

Just curious why going to longer studs would be a big deal though? They're not terribly hard to swap. I went to the longer ARP studs on mine.
 
  #8  
Old 08-17-2017, 07:33 PM
Ace25's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default

A while back I broke / stripped a stud, the replacement just barely went in, / had to tap it with a hammer at an angle till it popped. I suppose I just need to take the rotors off and then longer ones wouldn't be a problem? Maybe it's easier than I think?!?
 
  #9  
Old 08-18-2017, 02:56 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,205
Default

There are a couple of ways I've seen done-
-the ghetto way is to stick the stud through, thread a nut on (a lug nut will work) and then impact it until it pulls through.
-the better way is to take the hub off and just use an arbor press to press it in.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.