Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

7th Gen ('06-'07): Plans for MistreSS

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2018, 07:14 AM
Monte Of The Month -- November 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2015
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Talking Plans for MistreSS

**The image below is a Photoshop I did to get an idea of appearance

So yeah, I almost sold the car a few months ago but I changed my mind and I think that was the right decision. After approx. 4 years of not doing a thing to this car, other than routine maintenance, I plan on investing in some things that I've been considering for a few years. Some of this is to freshen up the car's appearance for a potential run at Gold Class at Monte Nationals next year. My wife gave me the okay to do what I need to do to get the car cleaned up properly for that so this coming winter/spring, on top of the items below, I'll be spending time detailing and 'sprucing up' the car as much as possible.

Exhaust - I'm planning to order a set of Doug Thorley headers and a Badlandz cutout. My hope is to install the cutout before the cat, for maximum sound when open, but I need to have some lift time at a shop first to see what can be done and how to make it work. I know for a fact the cutout before the cat has been done on these. I plan to get a tune once the work is complete.

Brakes - A brake overhaul has been long overdue so I'm going to go with a full set of new rotors and pads. I haven't made up my mind on brand, etc. but I've been looking at EBC. I think their newly phased in thermic black rotors will go well on the car. Not sure yet if I want to go flat, slotted or cross-drilled/slotted. For pads, I'll either go EBC or stick with the ACDelcos from the dealership.

Appearance - So, several things here: