Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

My Bodywork/Rust Experience (back wheel well)

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2011, 11:31 AM
3 Year Member
Default My Bodywork/Rust Experience (back wheel well)

Well i figured that since i am doing this rust removal project on my car i would go ahead and make a how to the best i can. There wasn't much in detail on how to do this type of work on the Monte so hopefully this will help someone down the road.

REMEMBER I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL
-just someone who loves his car and doesn't want to see in a rust bucket in two years

For this project you'll need a couple things:

- Some sort of rust converter ( eg. Rust Doctor)
-Wire Wheel
-Car Jack (also jack stand)
-Socket Wrench
-Sand Paper
-Vacuum
-Paint thinner/ Mineral spirits
-Fiberglass Sheeting AND Fiberglass Resin
-Touch up paint kit to go with your Monte's color

(this is a weekend job make sure you have time to do complete it in one weekend, not a job you want to prolong due to risk of leaving exposed metal and further creating rust)

Old 06-05-2011, 11:48 AM
3 Year Member

First things first your going to want to put you car on a jack stand.

Lift location show below. The jack i used is the one that comes in the trunk by the spare tire.

Old 06-05-2011, 11:53 AM
3 Year Member

Now that you have the car jacked you can begin to take off the tire. You may want to put a wedge under the tire or something so the tire does not spin while your trying to take of the bolts under the center cap.

(center cap comes of real easy just pry with flat head screw driver

AHHHH TIRES GONE!!!

Old 06-05-2011, 12:01 PM
3 Year Member

Next is taking of the black liner splash guard (show by arrow below right next to my beautiful rust that will soon be gone)

There are i believe 6 tiny bolts that you will need at socket wrench for and a pesty weird plastic double ended type bolt (we'll get to later)