Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

hail damage!! I need some help from everyone on this forum

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2010, 01:06 AM
Question hail damage!! I need some help from everyone on this forum

newbie here, in need of some advice. I got caught in an oklahoma hail storm & my 95 monte 3.4L V6 is beat up.

It was my moms car & it only has 56,000 original owner miles on it , they want too much to fix it, insurance will not cover all cost.

I am thinking about buying new head lights, hood, ,driver & pasenger fenders & trunk , & either installing them myself or just let a body shop install them after I buy them & have it repainted along with a little dent repiar on the top, rear quarters & doors.

how hard will this be because it seems to me it will be cheaper to replace the body parts VS paintless dent repair which was well over $5000.00

I have never done any body work but i know how to use tools. please respond with your input no matter what it is.

(opinion, advice, best place to order parts , pictures, old posts, what ever, please help)

Old 10-24-2010, 07:36 AM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009
5 Year Member

I would try and find a pick and pull and find the parts yourself. If you could find parts the same color as the car, I would go ahead and bolt them on and then have a body shop paint them when the rest of the repairs are done. If you find parts of a different color, you will need to have them cut in the color of the car before you install them. I would look around, these cars are everywhere and alot of junked/wrecked ones are in the yards.

Old 10-25-2010, 02:12 AM

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member