Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

Caliper painting tips

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2013, 08:11 PM
1 Year Member
Default Caliper painting tips

Hey everyone, so I have a few days off and I am planning on doing some painting. I think I'm gonna start off and paint the 2 black support bars in the engine bay, sorry I don't know the technical term for those, and if I have time I'm going to paint my calipers. The 2 support bars I'm not worried about at all, but does anyone have any tips for painting calipers? I've never done it before so any tips on how to tape things up, best way to clean them, etc. would be much appriciated. Also, how do you guys think it would look with those support bars painted white and having 327 (for cubic inches) painted in red. I was originally just going to paint them white and paint the bolts red and then that idea popped in my head. So I'm interested in seeing what you guys think. Again I apologize for not knowing the technical name for those. Thanks for any help guys and gals

Old 05-11-2013, 09:45 PM
Monte Of The Month -- November 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2015
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Support bars; I think you mean the caliper brackets? For the calipers, I'd recommend unbolting them from the bracket and paint them detached from the bracket, and I'd also recommend unbolting the brackets from the steering knuckle if painting those as well. One, it's way easier to paint the parts that way and, two, you have to mask less stuff. Also, getting paint onto the entire caliper looks more professional than just painting what you can reach when they're still assembled.

Are you spraying or brushing the caliper paint?

Last edited by 06mistreSS; 05-11-2013 at 09:49 PM.
Old 05-11-2013, 09:55 PM
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- November 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
10 Year Member