Off Topic A place to kick back and discuss non-Monte Carlo related subjects. Just about anything goes.

what should i do?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2012, 01:40 PM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2009
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default what should i do?

thought mabe i'd make a thread, because i could use some advice & opinions.

i've been tossing around the idea of buying a house for a couple of months now, prices in my area are really in the gutter and it's possible to snag a really nice bank owned house for less than the price of a new truck (what i've really been saving for).

so i've kept my eye on the local listings, nothing really jumped out at me as something i'd want to own.... untill this place came up for sale. it's about 4-5 blocks away from where i live now, and i've always liked it, about 1500 SF, nice flat wooded acre of property, BIG detached 2 car garage, and generally well cared for. 4 BR's, 1 BA, finished basement and a huge porch, built around 1980. they're asking $39,000

85 Huffman Circle, Bushkill PA - Trulia

i contacted the realtor last week, and walked through the house last sunday, and i REALLY liked the size and layout of it, and loved the garage (of course!) unfortinitly, when i got to the basement, i discovered that apparently the property had been "winterized" AFTER the pipes broke, and the two downstairs BR's are almost floor to celing black mold talk about a dissapointment.

but the idea of the house is still rolling around in my head, i don't know if i would be able to get a loan for it (probibly have to go through my father and "rent" from him) but all the work involved with the mold worries me, it would be a total gut & redo for the basemtnt and who knows what else. plus taking care of the plumbing, not to mention having to get furnature & such.

anyone have any suggestions as to what i should do, is it a good or bad buy, been in a similar scenario?

Old 08-03-2012, 04:30 PM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2012