Off Topic A place to kick back and discuss non-Monte Carlo related subjects. Just about anything goes.

Need opinons on windows 10 upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 11:20 AM
1 Year Member
Default Need opinons on windows 10 upgrade

What does everyone think of windows 10 ? I really like 7 and am afraid to take the free upgrade. I tried 8 and hated it! I have limited (negative) experience with 10.
I couldn't get the "mail" app to import mail with pop3 or imap4. I also cannot help family wirelessly set up a printer to a win10 machine. It connects fine with 8 and 7. I know my way around computers, so it's not me.

I know that they are eventually going to abandon 7 like they did with xp... And I don't want to be using it when they do. BUT, I also want to have a USABLE operating system. I don't like OS X, and dislike how microsoft is moving to that layout.

I could live without POP3 and IMAP4 email, but I NEED a WIRELESS printer! I did like the smoothness of 10, it reminded me of 7 in that way.

Has anyone liked windows 10?

Old 05-23-2016, 11:37 AM
Monte Of The Month -- August 2011
Monte Of The Month -- April 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

I like it but it takes some getting used to. I get kicked off my WIFI quite a bit now (Think my WIFI adapter needs to be upgrade for 10 tho) soon you wont have a choice

Old 05-23-2016, 01:08 PM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

My windows 10 desktop won't stay in sleep mode. It's a big PITA that I've tried a ton of troubleshooting on and it really does bother me.

Besides that, I really like it.

Old 05-23-2016, 01:32 PM
1 Year Member

I played around with the windows mail and got it working, was a fussy semantics issue that mozilla thunderbird didn't care about. I think I got the wireless printer working, had to manually setup. It's a family win10 machine that I don't get on much, I'm just tech support