New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Question On Engine Swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2012, 10:27 AM
Default Question On Engine Swap

First of all, since I'm new. I'm 20 years old, ended up w/ a 1997 Monte Carlo LS w/ a 3.1L V6. The car has been so far enjoyable, even won a couple drags w/ her. Named her Krystal.

Now for my question, though I can easily replace less important parts and increase horsepower, throttle response, etc etc. I've learned the Intake Manifold Gaskets are terrible, read of people having to replace them every 30,000 miles and resulting in holes in your pocket. In retrospect, I was wondering if there were any options for an engine swap, what can fit inside my monte carlo, or if there were manifold gaskets made of a different material you could buy to prevent this problem long term. I'm new to modding, only helping my friend w/ his VW GTX, and my cousin with his Suburu WRX for experience. What very little I do know tells me strait lines are my only hope right now, and am hoping for a little more diversity as well as my previous problem. Any help is appreciated, glad to be a part of the Monte Carlo forums.
sincerly,
NewFish

Old 03-05-2012, 10:45 AM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Welcome to the forum!

I don't know where you read that, the failure rate is around 80-90k miles and when replaced with metal gaskets the issue is usually fixed for good.

If you want to swap you should be able to directly swap in a 3400, probably need some different sensors and such, if you were to swap to an L32, you will need the new engine wiring harness and transmission, assuming you have the 4t60e right now.

How many miles are currently on the engine?

Old 03-05-2012, 10:54 AM
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member

welcome to mcf!

Old 03-05-2012, 11:01 AM