New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Pentastar 3.6 L swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2022, 06:00 PM
Default Pentastar 3.6 L swap

Hi guys, I will start this by saying please don’t be mean, I know car guys can be fairly particular especially about the 6th gen but give me a shot here. I’m not a complete beginner when it comes to working with cars but certainly not even close to an expert. To start, I’m starting to do some research on messing around with my 2000 Monte Carlo SS. I love driving the car, I think especially with the way the tranny feels it doesn’t have a whole lot more time left. Basically, when it finally goes I was thinking of keeping it as a project car. Now the only basic idea I have now is to pop out the old engine, and pop in a Pentastar 3.6L as I’ve driven a charger in the past, and despite being similar in weight the charger had wayyy more kick. I would go with the V6 cause to be honest I don’t wanna go through and change everything over for a V8. Long story short, is this swap plausible, and what potential other equipment would I need to change to make this work including transmission. Once again, some people won’t like this, but it’s an automatic and i’d preferably like to keep it that way. Although it’s not completely off the table to do a manual swap if it’s as easy as an auto. Thanks everyone!

Ty

Old 10-05-2022, 10:25 AM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Welcome!

I am not familiar with that Pentastar 3.6l engine. In theory, anything is possible with the right resources. But before going that road, if you have not explored modding and computer tuning of the 3.8L v6, that might also be an avenue to explore (as there has been a lot of available tricks to add some pep to this platform).

Old 10-05-2022, 06:20 PM

Originally Posted by The_Maniac
Welcome!