New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Noob to the board...

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2007, 10:55 PM
Default Noob to the board...

Hi,
Wanted to stop by and let you guys know that I was new here. No need to flame me hard or remind me to use the search button, I will try, thanks. I have a 1967 caprice with a 77 monte carlo 305(?). This car is sorta-of questionable description because the friend I bought it from was a little vague about the details. If you need I can provide # for pistons etc. I am going to google them too, but if you need some tech info from parts #'s feel free to ask. I have worked with F/I in 4 cylinders, so I have some knowledge, a set of bore guages, etc. Finally, what are the top N/A upgrades I can do for this engine? What is the story with F/I engines for these cars? Little info on who thinks what would be great. See ya.

Old 08-20-2007, 07:14 AM
Monte Of The Month -- March 2007
5 Year Member
Default RE: Noob to the board...

hey, welcome to the site

no flame'n here, we're a friendly site

Old 08-20-2007, 11:54 AM

The 305HO isnt a bad engine, however from my experience with the Olds cutlass I had, then engine could use more. Common thing is to just pull it out and swap in a 350. Mine had leaks just about everywhere. I tore it all down and redid all the seals, and she ran great. I belive Crane Cams does make a nice cam setup for the car, and a crank. There are also high flow heads out there and valves. Its just that 350's are a bit more of a mainstream engine..

Old 08-26-2007, 08:37 PM

Well, after reading some more, it looks like this setup wouldn't be hard to turdbo. Any prescient suggestions on doing this? Turbo manifolds seem to be fairly cheap and at least I have a lot of room to work in vs. the stuff I did in the compact arena. Equipped with the 67 1,2 Powerglide, it seems that this thing might make a sorta nasty street car. Suggestions? Thanks ppl.

Old 02-05-2008, 03:43 PM