New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Monte Fam

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2015, 10:17 PM
Default Monte Fam

Hello fellow Monte Carlo enthusiasts! So glad I can join this forum. My name is Melvin. I am 24 and I work at Scottrade Brokerage firm. I am also currently in gradschool as well as running my own marketing business. In other words I am very busy. My wife and I decided to embark on a 3 year debt free plan which included selling my 09 Dodge Challenger R/T. As sad as it was to see it go, I am comforted by my 87 Monte Carlo SS restoration project. It was my dad's first car and he gave it to me when I graduated college. Talk about sentimental value! Anyway Im not well versed in autos but Im excited to learn a lot here Currently the car does start when its warmer, but there is a serious knock that sounds like its coming from the alternator. Well we arent getting any younger! Where do we go from here??

Old 11-04-2015, 01:03 AM

Originally Posted by mbanks2587
the car does start when its warmer, but there is a serious knock that sounds like its coming from the alternator. Well we arent getting any younger! Where do we go from here??
I know all too well of the sentimental vehicles!! Well first, the knock probably isn't coming from the alternator It's most likely coming from the pass. side bank [behind the alt.] of the engine. Does the engine run? What happens when you give it gas? Knocking can be caused from busted push rods, bad ignition components, wrong timing, and exhaust leaks as well.

Old 11-04-2015, 07:10 AM

Originally Posted by MNmonteSS
I know all too well of the sentimental vehicles!! Well first, the knock probably isn't coming from the alternator It's most likely coming from the pass. side bank [behind the alt.] of the engine. Does the engine run? What happens when you give it gas? Knocking can be caused from busted push rods, bad ignition components, wrong timing, and exhaust leaks as well.