New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Looking at this 2000 SS

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2010, 02:56 PM
Default Looking at this 2000 SS

My wife and I are looking at this 2000 SS. I am new to the world of bowtie and i was wondering what ya'll thought of this car? if there are any problems I should look for, what mods would help? ( i do all the work my self) and what a fair price would be. What is the best highway MPG that we could expect.

It is a 2000 SS with 53,000 miles on it. Very clean car that seems to run and drive very well for its age.

http://www.eastonmotors.com/listings...onte-carlo.php

Thanks for any and the all help that I can get! This would be my wifes daily driver so i am a little worried about it.

Old 08-17-2010, 03:04 PM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Welcome!

I have a 2000 SS. I would say $4500 - 5000 for the car. It's not highly optioned, doesn't even have leather seats. But the mileage is nice, unless it's 100% city driving.

My MPG is about 32 highway, but I am modified. There are TONS of aftermarket things for the L36 (Series II 3800 Engine)

I would check all the fluids in the car, the transmissions are probably the weakest point on this thing (4t65e) but the car should be solid. I just rolled 171,000 miles this weekend.

Any other questions?

Old 08-17-2010, 03:06 PM

Hi Buster, and Welcome to the MonteCarloFamily.
That's a super low mile Monte S.S.
Does the dealer have a CarFax report that contains
number of owners/accidents and history of this Monte ?
The 3.8L is a Bullet Proof Engine `if it has been
maintained & Serviced...
Does the seller have the service records...
Explore the MCF and you find find volumes of information
on the 6th Generation Monte Carlo.
I am sure several member's will post the pro's and con's, but
I believe there are more pro's then con's, and a
Monte Carlo will give you a lot of bang for your $'s, plus