New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

hi, long time listener, first time caller

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2008, 06:40 PM
Default hi, long time listener, first time caller

hi my name is dave and this is my first time posting here i was a member of a forum for front drive GM cars (monte,GP,etc). I am about to buy my first monte carlo and i have some questions you may or may not (i am hoping for the may ). it is a 2004 monte carlo ls coupe. my dad bought it used in late 04 with only 12k miles on it. my dad comuted to work 24 miles one way 5 days a week and drove all over the county for his job. he put on 100k miles on the car before the warranty ran out. currently the car has 136k miles on it but it is all highway miles and he changes the oil 3-4 times a year and uses full synthetic. my questions on the car are: on the steering wheel mounted cruise buttons the black paint is rubbing off letting the semi clear green plastic that makes the lettering apear. can these buttons be replaced and if so, how do you do it? on my last car a ford thunderbird you could pop off the acess panels behind the buttons on the backside of the wheel and then you unscrewed them and then unplugged them from the rim. my other question is the HVAC panel under the radio. he has the dual zone climate control with the vertical sliders for the hot to cold settings. i heard you have to replace the whole panel when the bulbor bulbs burn out (currently both bulbs behind the temp controls are burnt out, one just burned out a few days ago). I can get a hold of a new one but how do you get the old one out? ditto for the gauge cluster as one of the bulbs that light up the right side of the tach gauge is out too. can you replace the bulbs in the gauge cluster or do you have to replace the whole cluster? i hope you can just replace a bulb as a new cluster would be way to $$$. i am sorry for the long post but i just wanted to get these questions answered. i am looking for