Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Sunroof Fiasco...!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2013, 08:21 PM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Sunroof Fiasco...!!!

Hey Everyone,

I have been in a huge rut this past week trying to fix my sunroof. Ive bought the car used and ever since I've bought it the sunroof didnt open accordingly. It would make a really loud crackling sound and just wouldnt open for 4 years of me owning it. I am a training Automotive Tech and have been for the past 2 years and decided that I needed to fix this thing. I Took the whole headliner down and disassembled the track assembly from the roof and found the switch that mates with the motor had a small gearset inside that was stripped really bad. I didnt want to take any chances and purchased a used track from ebay for 60$ assuming that the cables would be damaged as well along with a switch and motor assembly. This used track that I purchased came shipped in the open position with the arms up. I plugged everything in, module, switch, motor and cycled the key forward and it would move forward about 1 inch and stop and make a really loud click. This upset me very much as I was stuck trying to figure out what the problem could be. Doing a little bit of research I found out online that some sunroof assemblies have to be relearned so the position of the track and the position of the switch are the same. I disassembled the motor/switch and mated them together and plugged them in the car seperately from the track and cycled the key forward than back until it stopped. This was the position for the track in open. I go to plug everything back in and lo and behold same BS,.. moves about an inch and makes a really loud click. The car is an 03 SS and I really need some expert help/advice from those who have exp with these sunroofs. Any help is greatly appreciated. Cheers,

George

Old 05-29-2013, 06:44 AM
5 Year Member