Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): No Heat & Mechanic Wrong??

Old 04-13-2018, 09:16 AM
Default No Heat & Mechanic Wrong??

I am a shade tree mechanic at best. Recently my wifes 02 SS quit having heat and was losing coolant. I told her to take it to a local shop we have used for a long time. They replaced the thermostat and said it needed a new water pump and the plastic elbow connectors.

That was all replaced there was still no heat, they did a pressure test and said the head gaskets were blown. I get the car back home and start looking it over, I find that there is no water in the oil, no sweet smell from anywhere or white smoke, and no bubbles in the radiator. My wife drove it around put maybe 100 miles on it and no loss of coolant (or if any minimal). I did discover that the upper radiator hose appeared to be partially collapsed and was leaking some at the bleeder screw. Replaced hose, tighten bleeder screw still no heat.

At 70 degrees ambient temp the car with heat on high is still blowing cold air.

Heater hoses are heating up, I purged all air out of the system. I am finding zero coolant leaks now and the coolant levels are not going down. Everything in me says I do not have a cooling system problem, but something else.

Thoughts?

Old 04-13-2018, 11:26 AM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Well if a compression test says the head gasket(s) are bad, that could cause it, as could a failing heater core.

Old 04-13-2018, 01:38 PM

They said they did a coolant pressure test not a compression test. Please correct me if I am wrong, wouldn't the leak at the bleeder valve also show no pressure in the cooling system?

Heater core besides the obvious leaking inside the cabinet (which it isn't at least not right now) how else can it be tested if at all?