Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

front tire fell off

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2016, 05:10 PM
Default front tire fell off

Hi I'm new to this site & the posted problem led me here for answers. Two weeks ago I took my 04 Monte Carlo to a garage to have a brake inspection & then the front driver side tire fell off because the driver (teenager) was driving with 2 lug nuts. My question is to do a brake inspection does the tire have to be taken off? If so the garage is responsible, they say they can check the brakes from behind on a hoist. Any feed back would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Old 01-17-2016, 05:19 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

I'm not a professional mechanic by any stretch (just a shade tree mechanic). In my opinion, if you are inspecting the brakes to see how worn they are, even with wheels that expose a lot of the brake system, I believe you are best pulling the wheel. This allows you to stick you head in a good position to view the pad wear. Checking the backside while on a lift is only really going to let you view the condition of the rotor (use of a mirror "might" let you see the pad wear).

No matter what the right answer is for a professional shop, keep in mind, it's going to be difficult to point a finger and have the shop own the issue. There are questions that are difficult to prove and it's mostly a finger pointing game.

Old 01-17-2016, 05:31 PM

Thank you for your quick reply. The garage is reviewing video & seem to be working with us but I figured this is the best place to really find out.

Old 01-17-2016, 06:35 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2017
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Question