Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Opinion Needed: 5th Fifth gen Rear disc brakes

Old 04-27-2017, 09:47 PM
1 Year Member
Default 5th Fifth gen Rear disc brakes

Heard my rear wheels squeak again after several months. I was driving in city traffic and heard them while turning in a parking lot.I replaced my shocks a week before and looked at pads and they were fine. I replaced calipers approximate 3 or 4 times before with A/Z parts. Ive also replaced the rubber lines a year ago. Im not a mechanic but I am mechanically inclined especially with the help of my board bros on here! I have never been satisfied with the braking on this car. Does anyone have any ideas? Madter cylinder or modulator valve maybe?

Old 04-28-2017, 08:26 AM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2017
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Smile

You may need to try for larger rotors and Caliper set up,something like the new Camaro's have. But then you may need to go to a bigger wheel size also.
Usually the calipers are something that you change after 75k and or 10 years. This depends on the environment you need to drive in.
I have had cars that I had well over 100K and the service tech said my brakes looked like they were hardly used, but that was because I drove mostly Highway miles and I just don't brake that often unless it's in town traffic.
Maybe you would want to try ceramic pads, and a heavier duty caliper. good Luck

Old 04-28-2017, 05:02 PM
1 Year Member