Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): 2003 SS oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2017, 09:15 AM
Default 2003 SS oil leak

My car has an intermittent oil leak, every other week my car leaks and and then it doesn’t. But when it leaks, it leaks a lot. I’m talking losing 5 Quarts in a day. When my oil level light pops up, I’ll check the dipstick and they’ll be barely any oil. Yet inside, my oil pressure gauge is saying it’s perfect. On the ground under the car I see the leak is coming from the front right of the car, right behind my wheel. I went to a personally recommended mechanic, I was told that the leak is coming from a power steering pressure hose, I’m no mechanic but I’m pretty sure that my engine oil isn’t going through my power steering. When I changed my brake pads, I could see that all the leaked oil was in the front right side, nothing in the left. What can I do to stop the leak, or how can I find where exactly it’s coming from. I have tried anti leak treatments, they’re no help. Thank you

Old 10-30-2017, 04:06 PM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Assuming you've already had the front valve cover gasket recall done and it's not leaking, the most likely culprit for a large leak from that area would be the front crank seal(AKA-engine seal). It's a pretty common problem with the 3800 II. Not a particularly hard fix, but you do have to remove the harmonic balancer pulley. The other common place for large oil leaks is the rear valve cover gasket, but that leak would more likely show up on the ground near center just in front of the fire wall. You would also see tons of smoke from oil leaking onto the hot exhaust manifold.

I would suggest not driving the car until fixed if you can.

Old 10-30-2017, 04:06 PM

Does the car run normally? It could be a crankshaft seal but that would leak all the time.