Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

2000 Monte Head Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2017, 01:11 PM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default 2000 Monte Head Gasket

So my MC (3.4L) just hit the 220,000 mile mark and my low coolant level light came on. Me being curious (since there was no puddle on the ground) I checked the oil and sure enough it's milky white. I'm assuming it's the head gasket. I've heard the rebuild kits are pretty expensive and time consuming to rebuild. Would it be worth the rebuild kit, a new motor, or a used motor from a junkyard? I know going to a junkyard runs the risk of getting another bad motor, but at the same time I'm a college student and am pretty tight on money. I don't really want to part with the car because I've invested about $1000 in parts over the last year or so (suspension related) and I can't sell/scrap it because I can't get the title from the state.

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Old 02-20-2017, 01:20 PM

$150 for the gaskets heads and up by fel-pro. Probably want to send the heads off to be checked. I bought a set of remand heads for $150 ea when I bought a non - runner and found the head was damaged.

The lower intake manifold gaskets for those 3400s in that time wore out and can cause the same problem - oil and coolant mixing. Is it overheating? Also this is a fairly easy, straight forward repair for gaskets since its OHV - you don't need to deal with a cam or timing chains or anything. Do you have tools/any experience working on engines? As far as time goes, I did a head gasket replacement on a 3400 all in one nights back in college so I hope that can give you some encouragement to try yourself.

Edit: call a few machine shops for pricing in your area as well as them machining your heads it will probably be about 80-90 for that just call and ask.

Old 02-20-2017, 01:28 PM
5 Year Member