Info: Website Repair Needed - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-17-2017, 10:33 PM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brevard County, FL
Posts: 197
Default Website Repair Needed

Every time I attempt to open a new page on this site, the screen goes blank and I get an error message saying that a script is stopping my browser. Can you please identify and correct this script?

(No, it's not my computer. It only happens on this site, and this computer cost more than my last car.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2017, 05:44 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,271
Default

Can you grab any screenshots or anything that may lead us to the error you are experiencing?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2017, 08:27 AM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,861
Default

Try using a different browser, or resetting your current one. Works fine for me with Firefox, Edge, and Chrome.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2017, 09:15 PM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brevard County, FL
Posts: 197
Default

Okay, so if it were the browser, it would do it on every site visited by that browser, correct?

For the record, it does NOT work with Firefox, or Safari, or IE 8. I don't have access to Edge.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2017, 12:42 AM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,052
Default

Cost of the computer is not a factor in this issue, but what is installed can be. Could be something like a plug-in conflicting, could be malware, just to label a couple of examples.

As for doing it with every site, not necessarily. For example, if it's an error in JavaScript, the problem will only surface on sites using JavaScript. Or it could be the code written is using a feature that is not supported or was changed for a specific version of a plug-in or feature of the browser. Such as I believe almost all browsers support HTML5, but dig in and you may find they do not all support the same features of HTML5.

You also label that it did not work on:
Firefox - Is this the current version?
Safari - Is this on a Windows computer, if so, APple ended support and updates of Safari long time ago, so it's not even in the running.
IE8 - Microsoft ended support of that long ago, you need to go to IE11 and if your Operating System does not support IE11, time for an OS upgrade or a new device.
Edge - I would not bother with that for this issue.

I would try Chrome. If you are still running XP, Chrome ended XP support in 2016.

If you can provide a screenshot like Chibi suggested, we may have some other ideas. You can also trying hitting the site from another computer to see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2017, 11:35 AM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brevard County, FL
Posts: 197
Default

The Safari is on a Mac. The IE 8 is on a Windows 7 laptop. The idea of spending hundreds of dollars on a new computer to visit one website is so ludicrous, I can't believe you typed it.
I didn't have this problem two weeks ago. Now I have it. Nothing has changed on my computers, so obviously something has changed on the site. Which is what I said to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2017, 10:39 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96z34man View Post
The IE 8 is on a Windows 7 laptop. The idea of spending hundreds of dollars on a new computer to visit one website is so ludicrous, I can't believe you typed it.
Please re-read my statement!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Maniac View Post
IE8 - Microsoft ended support of that long ago, you need to go to IE11 and if your Operating System does not support IE11, time for an OS upgrade or a new device.
I clearly stated if you OS does not support IE11, time for an OS upgrade or a new device. IE8 is an unsecured browser because Microsoft ended support over a year ago and is not updating it. You stated this in on a device running Windows 7, no need for a new computer, just upgrade your browser. Win7 fully supports IE11 without issue. Also, there are ways to still get Microsoft's free Win10 upgrade for a device running a fully licensed version of Win7 or newer.

It is possible that Internet Brands who owns and maintains this site and it's software made a change that is not compatible with IE8.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.