Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

where to put my sub?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2010, 08:47 PM
Default where to put my sub?

Im new to having this car (01 LS) and im getting ready to upgrade my sound system. ive done deck and speakers in cars before but never a sub, so therefore my knowledge is limited. not sure what kind of sub im getting yet simpll because i dont know where to put it. i want to keep as much room in my trunk as possible due the the fact that i ski and want to be able to put myseats down and i tend to use my trunk a fair bit.
One idea ive been thinking about is in the back between the rear speakers cutting it out and putting in a 12" shallow pioneer and then boxing it in with a small box myself. another problem due to my limited know how, how much air room do you need in the box and do you need one for sure? and how do i tell what size amp ill need?
So that is my problem and im open to suggestions. also im trying to keep it from getting to expensive. thank you and any help would be appreciated.

Old 04-16-2010, 09:24 PM

well with what youre wanting to do (keep the trunk open for use) youre kinda screwed. i guess if youre pretty crafty, you could do what you were talking about with boxing it into the back dash, then you could mount the amp(s) under the box(s). other than that, youre gonna just have to live with some good speakers? they do make some kick *** speakers though and these cars really put out some GREAT sound when you have the right speakers mounted in the back dash. Other than that, you might just have to comprimise.

Old 04-16-2010, 09:54 PM

how much extra room do you need the box though? can it be the same size as the sub? like almost touching the bottom of it or do you need so much extra room?

Old 04-16-2010, 10:01 PM