Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Stumbled across this. A few questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2009, 07:07 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009
5 Year Member
Default Stumbled across this. A few questions

I was browsing an audio website and found a deal they were running. Here is the link:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...h+P1692S.html#

Out of sheer curiousity, I have a few questions. Lets say someone were to buy this.
How exactly would you go about installing this? Im a noob to all things audio besides installing headunits and such, but I can do the installation if I know how to set it up and how to run the wiring. I am good with wiring and custom fabrication so that wouldnt be a problem. The kit comes with speakers, tweeters and crossovers. Do you need an amp to run these? Say you were to get this kit, a new headunit and a set of front door speakers, and if necessary, a small amp, what kind of extra wiring would you be looking at having to run. Subs would be out of the picture. Im not a fan of subs and I use my trunk regularly. Im just looking for clear sound and some reasonable bass without the car really bumping. Any imput would be appreciated. Im running out of mods and may be looking at a sound system if its not too much of a PITA. Im making a decent amount of money now and I can afford to start a small project like this soon.

Old 09-27-2009, 07:27 PM

Monte Of The Month -- January 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

I'm no expert with audio stuff at all, but my dad and I did install speakers and a new head unit in my 89 silverado...

If your asking about installing a head unit, there is usually and adapter that you can buy that connects to the factory wiring harness, and plugs into whatever deck you buy.

Wouldnt any the speakers be able to use your existing wire from your stock speakers?

The only wire you would have to run that I know of is for the amp...