Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

MY new sound system with problems,2 12's haha

  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 10:35 PM
04chevyboy's Avatar
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Whitney Point,New York
Posts: 1,577
Exclamation MY new sound system with problems,2 12's haha

So heres my set up:2 Kenwood 700 watt peak single 4 ohm woofers strapped to a Jensen 600 watt 4 channel amp run bridged down to 2 ohms

But my problem is when i get into high frequencys it cuts out and is anoying as hell haha.Im going to have someone look at it but im thinking the amp might need to be tuned or some wirering is wrong.Btw its a stock head unit,ill post pics later:p
 
  #2  
Old 03-21-2012, 01:12 AM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 370
Default

your running high frequencys to your subs??? you don't want anything but lows running to them or else you'll fry the voice coils
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-2012, 01:20 AM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Do you have it setup off a headunit and the sub out going to the amp?

There shouldn't be highs going to the sub, it's bad for the subs, your coils won't fry right away but they will eventually get worse and worse.

Make sure you're filtering the high frequency's out and only playing the low frequency's.

Also, lower the gain **** if it's still cutting out when you filter out the highs and only playing lows, you may have too much power going to the subs so they're cutting out.
 
  #4  
Old 03-21-2012, 01:32 AM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 370
Default

i don't think that jensen would fry them off to much power what are your rms ratings on the subs and amp?
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-2012, 01:42 AM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Originally Posted by mwjames View Post
i don't think that jensen would fry them off to much power what are your rms ratings on the subs and amp?
Well he does have them down to 2 ohms which means more RMS wattage and if the gain is turned up those Kenwoods don't take a ton of power from what I've seen.
 
  #6  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:21 AM
jaws2008's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- April 2011
GOT SPL
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 1,571
Default

Just to check you have 1 sub hooked up to channels 1 and 2 and the other sub hooked up to channels 3 and 4 correct. If you don't that's your problem right there(you CAN NOT bridge a 4 channel amp across all 4 channels). Also make sure to put the channels on low pass. Also I wouldn't be surprised if only the rear channel has a low pass filter and the front doesn't have a low pass filter.. some amps don't especially lower end amps. A sub must run on low pass for it to work properly.
 
  #7  
Old 03-21-2012, 09:08 PM
04chevyboy's Avatar
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Whitney Point,New York
Posts: 1,577
Default

Well i guess i didnt mean high frequencys,i ment when you crank the radio all the way up the subs cut out.and yes they do pump hard enough to **** off anyone neer my car haha.we played with the gain and they only cut out once compared to every 15 seconds lol,but gonna have a friend with better better knowledge of this,im new to audio hahaha
 
  #8  
Old 03-21-2012, 10:37 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

lower the gain on the amp, make sure none of the wires are grounding out on anything also
 
  #9  
Old 03-21-2012, 11:11 PM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 370
Default

if you had to run rca cables make sure they weren't ran next to the power wire. Double check grounds and such.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-2012, 10:32 PM
04chevyboy's Avatar
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Whitney Point,New York
Posts: 1,577
Default

Originally Posted by mwjames View Post
if you had to run rca cables make sure they weren't ran next to the power wire. Double check grounds and such.
they were ran next to the power cable,whys that matter?lol and i turned the gain down and its working better
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: MY new sound system with problems,2 12's haha


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.