Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

last Sub question(i HOPE)

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2011, 06:40 PM
Default last Sub question(i HOPE)

Hey fellas im hoping to order my sub tonight. i got everything picked out. just not sure on the wiring kit. Im very new to subs so im not sure what im looking at gauge wise. ill post the links to my sub im ordering and the wiring kit.

BULLZ AUDIO EPAK8BL 8 Gauge Amplifier/Amp Wiring Kit - eBay (item 350408051571 end time Apr-25-11 11:39:15 PDT)

ALPINE SWS-1243D 12-INCH CAR AUDIO SUBWOOFER 4-OHM SUB - eBay (item 280420979212 end time May-02-11 13:04:19 PDT)

Let me know if i have the right idea here. i have an amp already i just need to get this last part done. Also if anyone has to link to take the back seat completely out so i can run wires that would be fantastic!

Thanks!

Old 04-24-2011, 07:38 PM

whats the amp you have and whats its rated power, you genraly want 2 ohms on a sub amp, almost all amps run down to 2 ohms and they generaly run 2x the power at 2 ohms than they do at 4 ohms. for you to get the 2 ohms at the amp, you'll want 2 of those subs, wire them black toblack, red to red, and than white black to - on the amp and red to + on the amp and you'll be at 2 ohms at the amp but that all depends on your amp because you may have 2 ohms resistance at your amp now but you might not have enough juice flowing out of the amp to power 2 of them.

Old 04-24-2011, 08:26 PM

unfortuently i dont have my amp with me. its a boss amp rated at 600watts(max) i think? okay i dont really want 2. i just want some extra bass. so i found this sub that is only 2ohms is that gonna work better?

ALPINE SWS1223D CAR AUDIO 12" SHALLOW MOUNT SUB WOOFER | eBay

Old 04-24-2011, 08:55 PM

thats dual 2 ohm, so you can either get 1 ohm or 4 ohms out of it, or 2 if you have 2 of those.