Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Do it yourself window tinting??

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 03:17 AM
Lightbulb Do it yourself window tinting??

So I bought a "pre-cut" window tint set and its been just sitting in my room because the original person who was supposed to install it backed out....So I'm tired of it just sitting here and was wondering if it was a good or bad idea to try to install it myself? I have NEVER done it before so I'm iffy with it.... Anyone done it before? Tips? Idea's? Suggestions? Good Idea? Bad Idea?

Old 08-19-2010, 10:34 AM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

do you have a squegee? is the rear window 1 piece or 2? 1 piece will be impossible to do. but if you use the spray and squegee it good, you should be good to go, watch this video for a quick idea of how to do it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8wpA...feature=search

the only thing about that i dont like is he took the protective film off with the tint off, i would leave the tint on the outside of the window and feel off the protective film, and just spray it down from there, it will be much easier. it looks like a lot but isnt too difficult once you get going, just take your time and have fun with it

Old 08-19-2010, 01:35 PM

Can't spell PIMP without an MP
Monte Of The Month -- November 2010
2010 Monte Of The Year
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Good luck... Show us how it looks when you are done. I am interested in doing the same thing.

Old 08-19-2010, 02:26 PM

I actually just about 2 weeks just done mines. I have an 81 Monte though.
But my 2 quarter windows and whole back glass....100% by myself. I DO NOT RECOMMEND doing by yourself though....but if you have GREAT patience you can do it yourself, just BE CAREFUL
Not trying to scare you....because I did it myself and was my absolutely first time ever doing tint.