Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Bypassing Amp

  #1  
Old 01-17-2012, 06:45 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Default Bypassing Amp

Anyone mind explaining how to bypass the factory amp on an 03 SS without cutting any wires? Is there a way to do that or is there a plug or harness that i can buy or what?

And some more info on Metras GMOS-04. Is the only thing it does is keep the chime? I dont think i have onstar so i could care less about that.
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-2012, 10:16 PM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 392
Default

I bought a bypass harness on Amazon for like $20. As for the GMOS-04 you can get a Metra harness that will work the IBR-WHGM3 or something like that but you will have to run an accessory wire from the ignition switch.
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-2012, 10:16 PM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 392
  #4  
Old 01-17-2012, 10:45 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Default

I need something for an 03. That harness is only up to 01?
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-2012, 11:00 PM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 392
Default

Hmmm I think it will work for an 03, can you take a picture of the plug for your amp and post it on here? I should be able to tell you if it will work.
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-2012, 09:53 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Default

Ok man i appreciate it. Im out of town until late tonite or tomorrow but ill post one whenever i get back in town. Another question i had is that ive got the original door speakers and rear speakers the only thing diffrent is the head unit. The sound quality is not bad or anything so basically what im asking is bypassing the amp suppose to make it sound better or is that something i even need to worry about? And how did you know thats what you needed to do?
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-2013, 11:03 PM
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 19
Default

Sorry for the lack of knowledge, but my amp isnt working in my 01 monte carlo ss, so i see this thread with the link to the bypass harnesss. Am i understanding this correctly that if i buy this and plug the wiring from the amp into it intead of the amp, the sound will then just come out of the speakers without going through the amp?
Amazon.com: Metra 70-2021 Amplifier Integration Harness for 2000-2001 Chevrolet Impala/Monte Carlo: Car Electronics
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
drjesus616
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
3
10-18-2010 08:57 AM
Space
Off Topic
7
08-08-2009 05:05 AM
Latch
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
8
03-17-2009 09:33 PM
victoryred05
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
2
01-10-2007 02:45 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bypassing Amp


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.