Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Amp/Sub install to factory headunit

  #1  
Old 07-08-2011, 12:06 AM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default Amp/Sub install to factory headunit

Hey guys,

Yesterday I just took my '06 Monte in for an amp install because I didn't want to deal with the converter to the factory stereo. However, I ended up waiting for quite a while, and still haven't gotten the car back yet because it won't turn on for them. They're telling me that the sub popped the ignition fuse, they'll gladly fix it for me but just outta curiosity what does this mean? Did it trigger the anti-theft mode and shut itself down or what?

I believe they're having a Chevy tech come and flash/reset the system so it will start up. Also is there anything I should know of that would set this off so I can avoid it in the future on some other stereo DIY projects?

They're now saying that the bcm isn't getting any power to it...fun...
 

Last edited by wiseheak; 07-09-2011 at 04:08 PM.
  #2  
Old 07-08-2011, 06:23 PM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Anybody have any problems like this? My next thought is to try the spare key, maybe the chip in the first key is bad or something.
 
  #3  
Old 07-10-2011, 11:40 AM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Well nevermind, it was their fault. The person who did the install left the key in the ignition and blew the bcm. They're fixing it for free, hopefully the correct way this time.
 
  #4  
Old 07-10-2011, 03:22 PM
Jester_20's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- November 2011
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,387
Default

Good stuff -- glad to hear they're fixing it for you. Installing a system with the factory radio is kind of a pain in the A**. Only reasons i did it was so it'd look clean, keep the steering wheel controls, xm, and it already had an ipod input -- turns out that with a processor and a +150 bands of eq, it sounds better than my old alpine did --that amp turn on is a pain to find though
 
  #5  
Old 07-10-2011, 04:45 PM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Yeah the big things for me to keep the stereo is the steering wheel controls also, and not to mention the 6 groups of presets. It comes in handy when going back and forth across the state.
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-2011, 02:51 PM
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Default

Originally Posted by wiseheak View Post
Well nevermind, it was their fault. The person who did the install left the key in the ignition and blew the bcm. They're fixing it for free, hopefully the correct way this time.
Perfect example of why I hate shops! In basic car electronics 101 you learned that you should disconnect the power source whenever installing/removing electrical components. SMH. This should have never happened, hopefully they are giving you a healthy discount for the inconvenience.
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-2011, 09:04 AM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Oh yeah they are. I paid $100 out the door for a basic amp install and they took off half. The kicker is that this problem had to cost them over a grand taking up space in their shop, for the parts and the amount of man hours they put into finding and fixing the problem. They did fire the guy who installed this for being so stupid about it.

I'm just glad this didn't happen to me in my garage because I'm an amateur when it comes to stereo installs and I'd be paying for all of this out of pocket haha
 
  #8  
Old 07-12-2011, 02:28 PM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Well I picked the car up today, here's the final install.



 
  #9  
Old 07-13-2011, 12:43 PM
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Default

Originally Posted by wiseheak View Post
Oh yeah they are. I paid $100 out the door for a basic amp install and they took off half. The kicker is that this problem had to cost them over a grand taking up space in their shop, for the parts and the amount of man hours they put into finding and fixing the problem. They did fire the guy who installed this for being so stupid about it.

I'm just glad this didn't happen to me in my garage because I'm an amateur when it comes to stereo installs and I'd be paying for all of this out of pocket haha
You have to be REALLY stupid or too cocky for your own good in order to cause this type of damage on an amp install. At least they hooked you up and got rid of the clown to caused this mess
 
  #10  
Old 07-13-2011, 02:18 PM
wiseheak's Avatar
3 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 122
Default

haha I know right? I mean I'm by no means an expert when it comes to sound installs, but I know damn well that you're supposed to take the key out of the ignition. Oh well, they did notice that I had some burnt wires going to my rear defrost that they didn't cause and fixed those for me as well. I'm just glad to have her back now
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bcnewfie
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
25
10-05-2014 03:00 PM
dezzyboi16
PRIVATE For Sale/Trade Classifieds
0
01-21-2013 12:16 PM
billyjblunt79
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
1
08-13-2012 10:23 AM
TicoWarbird
Monte Carlo Repair Help
31
01-15-2012 02:48 PM
paintballerr78
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
1
12-10-2009 09:40 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Amp/Sub install to factory headunit


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.