General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

What is this???

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2011, 03:26 PM
Default What is this???

Unfortunately, I'm unable to put a pic of it on here---apparently because I'm still a newbie
BUT, I need to know if this is aftermarket or factory....
It's a small (approx. 4 inches long) horn-like thing (I say horn-like, because it looks like a horn/mini-megaphone--almost like an alarm horn). It's in the engine compartment on the driver-side, by the wheel well. If it's not factory, I'm gonna rip it out, if it is factory I want to see if its part of the alarm system since my alarm isn't working, or my car doesn't have one....any help would be appreciated....thanks

Old 11-18-2011, 03:32 PM

That sounds like an aftermarket alarm siren.

Old 11-18-2011, 03:37 PM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

photobucket account. [ img ] tags.

Old 11-18-2011, 03:41 PM

forgot to mention....its a 2001 MC LS

Old 11-18-2011, 05:28 PM

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

The factory alarm would use the car's horn. It is probably a aftermarket siren as mentioned. The factory alarm may have been disabled when the aftermarket alarm was installed. I don't really know that much about them tho.

Old 11-18-2011, 05:51 PM