General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Opinions on purchase of '85 SS

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2014, 02:34 PM
Default Opinions on purchase of '85 SS

Ok enthusiast I am currently at crossroads about purchasing an '85 SS from an acquaintance. It's been parked up for about 3 months because the owner hasn't had time or money for the parts. Finally got to speak with him he was originally $4500 (not gonna happen)!!! He asked me for an offer and I said I have $3500...he said he would take it. Since then he's discovered that I am a personal trainer and wants me to be his trainer. If he takes another $900 of the price he can get the max amount sessions.

Here is a list of things wrong with the car and things I noticed the car needs and possibly will need:

Tired and Rims...he had 26's originally on there(just disrespectful)

Might possibly need some suspension work after finding out about the 26's

Exhaust can be cleaned up some.

Edellbrock carburetor is missing parts

front bumper cracked

Dashboard face plate cracked around the radio

Paint job

Window roll handles missing

Driver's side door panel broken

Shift cable broken and needs replacing.

I'm going to make another run through of the car and see what else potentially. The car runs fine and starts up quickly. I own '03 LS and it was a project car. Obviously it was much easier to find parts for it. I'm hesitant cuz I realize parts for an '85 are harder to come across and more expensive.

My question guys is...should I talk him down more? What's reasonable to pay for a car in this condition and what would you pay or do in this situation?

Old 07-14-2014, 02:10 AM