General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

New Guy on the block 2005 LS

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2009, 09:18 PM
Default New Guy on the block 2005 LS

Hey Guys,
I just wanted to say hi as I am new to the MC forum. I have an Acura Legend, and I have gotten SO much valuable information from that website. I also have a 2005 Monte Carlo LS. I love the car and want some info if possible.
The reason I'm here is because I took my car in for a routine oil change and was told I needed an Intake manifold gasket replaced because these cars have a history of problems in this department, and I should address it by winter. I have no symptoms, talked to a mechanic who said" why replace it if there aren't any problems?" That led me to this website.
I would like to maintain my Monte to the best of my ability(and wallet), so could you all fill me in on what needs to be addressed on this car, what problems are common, what to look for, mods. etc.
I appreciate your input. It is a stock 2005 LS. I bought the car 2 years ago with 53,000 miles. It now has 85,000 miles. I have done all oil changes on time, replaced the tranny cooler lines(leaking) and had the tranny fluid replaced. Coolant level is normal,no changes, and the car doesn't overheat(never has). It does seem to have power issues(lack of-3.1L) I paid 10,000 for the car, and the condition is excellent. I love the car, and want to take care of it and possibly perform mods to improve it. Thanks! John

Old 06-20-2009, 01:04 AM

Hi and welcome to the forum!!

I am with the auto repair guy. If there is no problem, do not worry about it. If someone can show you a recall list, take your car to a dealership and get all recalls fix for free.

I have a 05 SS Supercharged Monte and found out there is a recall on the cat converter. The year range was 02-05 (I think).

Old 06-20-2009, 04:32 AM

Hi `John & Welcome to our Monte Carlo Family.