Go Back  Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > General Monte Carlo Talk
Reload this Page >

6th Gen ('00-'05): Installed remote starter-but getting cold outiside air

General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Installed remote starter-but getting cold outiside air

  #1  
Old 02-08-2018, 12:01 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17
Smile Installed remote starter-but getting cold outiside air

Hello:

I own a 2004 Monte SS and after many cold winters i finally took the plunge and had a Viper brand remote starter unit installed.

The problem i have is , that the factory climate control unit by default starts with the "outside air" switch activated. Does anyone know if an adjustment/modification can be made in order for the climate control unit to start with the "recirculating fan switch" being active instead???

Any advice would be appreciated , thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-2018, 06:34 PM
drivernumber3's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- May 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2017
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,208
Smile

Can you set it to that location on the control and then turn the key off still in gear and after engine is off slide the shifter up to park? Someone suggest that to me on another vehicle I was driving that had a similar issue.
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:12 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

My advice, leave it.

You should use outside air in the winter, and reserve recirculated air for the summer with air conditioning. Recirculating air keeps the humidity that you don't want in the winter time. You won't be getting more heat until the car warms up and the heater core is using nice hot coolant anyway.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:32 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17
Default

I tried your suggestion on two occasions. once with the climate control set for floor heater , and once for bi-level. Neither worked. When the car is started, it still starts with the outside air switch by default. But thanks anyway.
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-2018, 09:34 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17
Default

Thank you
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.