General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Opinion Needed: Brakes are giving me problems i can't figure out

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2017, 12:39 PM
Default Brakes are giving me problems i can't figure out

Car is a 3.8 L 2002 Monte Carlo SS. Brakes hold pressure and pedal is firm with engine off. When I start engine, the pedal immediately goes to the floor. There is no fluid leaks and I have a new master cylinder. My questions about this are: How critical is the vacuum hose attached to the engine from the booster? Where is the location of the main fuse or circuit breaker for the ABS system? Is there a method to make sure the booster check valve is working? I sincerely need any advice quickly from forum members. Thanks so much. Randall B.

Old 01-31-2017, 07:41 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Can you pump the brakes up after they go to the floor?

How sure are you that the system is properly bled and there is no trapped air? Sounds like trapped air to me. Was the master cylinder bled prior to installation? That could be a problem See this description.

At this point, it is time to prepare the new replacement master cylinder for installation. First, the master cylinder must be "bench bled." This process bleeds the air out of the master cylinder before it is installed. The master cylinder is clamped into a bench vise and filled with clean brake fluid. Bench bleeding kits that consist of hoses and threaded fittings can be purchased at most auto parts stores. Run the hoses back into the master cylinder's reservoir. Activate the cylinder's piston by pushing it all the way forward with a screwdriver (See photo). Watch the fluid as it cycles back into the reservoir. Keep pumping the fluid through until the large bubbles no longer appear in the fluid