FWD Tech Guides '95-'07 Guides/How-To information for FWD Montes 1995-2007

Mod Guide: How to: 5th gen a/m headunit, speakers and amp

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2009, 08:23 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009
5 Year Member
Default How to: 5th gen a/m headunit, speakers and amp

Ok well I though I would post a little writeup for the 5th gen guys or anyone who can find it useful. As some of you may know I just installed an aftermarket headunit, new speakers and a 4 channel amp in my monte. Here is what you need and how to go about installing it.

I will start out by saying I am not an audio pro and any info I am giving must not be taken as the best info and I take no responsibility for any damage caused by taking my advice or following my directions

Things you need:
-New headunit with at least 2 RCA pre outs
-Installation kit (double to single din adapter, wiring adapter)
-Soldering iron and solder
-Shrink tubing
-Electrical tape
-Wire cutters/strippers
-Heat gun or hairdryer
-Speakers (5 1/4" for doors and 6x9" for rear deck)
-Speaker wire (The wiring I used was somewhere between 12 and 14 gauge but 16 should work)
-4 channel amp
-Amp installation kit
-4 gauge power wire (20ft)
-4 gauge ground wire (3ft)
-Ring terminals for power and ground wire
-2 RCA cables (17ft)
-Turn on lead (18 gauge)
-Zip ties
-Basic hand tools
-Screwdrivers (Regular and phillips)
-7mm, 8mm, 10mm, 13mm and 15mm sockets and ratchet w/ 3" extention
-Clip removal tool
-Allen wrenches