Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Transmission bad - Need quick advice please!

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 04:41 PM
1 Year Member
Default Transmission bad - Need quick advice please!

Hi,

This is my very first post here, and I could use some good advice please. I'm no mechanic, so I'll try to be brief as possible.....

I have a 2000 Monte Carlo SS, engine is 3800.

Some brief history of this car, bought it in 2005 had 34,000 miles on it, when it reached 45,000 miles the transmission blew out and I had it replaced with a GM 4t65e w/torque converter. I now have 170,000 miles on the car. When I first had the tranny installed, I did notice the RPM would go higher before shifting compared to the original tranny, not sure why, but it did that for the life of the tranny, which died today unfortunately.

I had my transmission checked about 3 months ago, it had been shifting hard into 2nd and/or 3rd gear for about a year intermittently. My transmission guy said he got a torque code, and after driving for about 50 miles, he said there's definitely something going on inside, and it's not just a solonoid or something simple. I thought this because of some posts I've read here, he read the posts and determined it wasn't the same problem.

I decided to drive it as is since it was still running ok except for the intermittent hard shift (which was definitely worse in the summer when it got hot quicker). So being Winter I decided I'll drive it and hope for the best since I can't really afford another tranny.