Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Serious Ongoing Trans problems 4T65E-HD 06' Monte SS

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 09:19 AM
Exclamation Serious Ongoing Trans problems 4T65E-HD 06' Monte SS

Help Guys! Any thoughts would be greatly helpful!
New to this site, I have had new Lumina's and Monte's for the last 12 years. Put 311K on one of them. I'm not a newbie to cars at 48 years old and a tech. But this is really killing me. Read this;
06 SS Monte 35K on the clock Purchased the car Easter this year and only able to be driven aprox 4K since purchase, under Warranty till 100K, 2 Dealers have put Three Trans's in this car and now sent to an outside trans shop and has been there for the past month, The independent tech's seem to be struggling with this too, This last trans has been in and out of the car a few times to keep adding parts to the valvebody. The Tech is very knowlegeable but, GM won't talk to him directly. GM tech's at two seperate dealers can't nail down TCC lock-up issue, Tach bounces while on the open highway and it over heats around town , Also worst of all it Automatically does it's own neutral slams at a light, Not good.
The independant tech has removed and rebuilt the last GM replacement which only ran for less than 600 miles since GM replaced it. He found amongest the over heating and heat damage, a shot chain that was hitting the casing. Makes me wonder what kind of quailty we get. After the tech has completely rebuilt the trans, new torque converter and even added sonnax TTC valves new valves etc etc in the valve body, the lock-up/ clutch is is still not functioning properly. He called me friday to give me the bad news I think he is fed up too. Anyone else had issues with this?
Was there a fix?
As of friday, Now they're talking another junk Reman GM transmission.
Ugggg.
Thanks Guys,
Robert P~

Old 10-18-2009, 09:53 AM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009