Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

New guy new question

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 07:23 AM
Default New guy new question

Hi, I'm new to the Monte Carlo forum, not new to the Monte Carlo though. Just looking for a few minor modifications underneath the hood that should get me a bit more out of my Monte when I came across these...Poly engine mounts. It seems like the small price for the benefits is worth it, but is the vibration too much for the DD?

These are the cheapest I could find:

http://www.wbodystore.com/grandprix/...nts-p-302.html

ZZP.com alson has engine mounts, as well as 3800performance.com, and intense-racing.com. Which ones are best? Also, are they worth it? Lastly, is the vibration too much? Thanks for helping a new guy out.

Old 03-18-2010, 07:25 AM

I believe that flipping the front engine mounts 90 degrees will stiffen up the engine more, giving most of the same benefits of poly (front) engine mounts without the added and dreaded vibration, while adding poly mounts to the rear of the engine will benefit you further, and the vibration will still be under control and tolerable.

Last edited by Frosty LS1; 03-18-2010 at 07:48 AM.
Old 03-18-2010, 09:33 AM

Ok, so the add says that the rubber engine mounts are slowing you down because the mounts compress before power goes to the wheels. Doesn't the engine also have to overcome the weight of the crank, flywheel, driveshafts, wheels, tires, the automatic transmission will use up some power, and won't the rubber of the tires flex as well. I mean are we talking about reducing your 1/4 mile time by a few hundredths of a second. I'm cool with any modification, and this will make your engine look better because as the ad says the mounts "are red", but performance gains?

Old 03-18-2010, 09:39 AM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member