Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Advice on engine to bost power

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2016, 06:53 PM
1 Year Member
Default Advice on engine to bost power

Hi Guys, I am about to buy a 3g 1978 monte landau with the 305 engine. This car has no any mods on it, Its stock, and the transmission has to be rebuilt.

These old engine are underpowered. 5.0L v8 engine with 160 hp ..

So what I want is to rebuild the engine with good inner components in order to boost the power to at least 250 hp.

I have beed reading that changing the camshaft, lifters, carburator, valves, rings, crankshaft and hi flow exhaust may do the job. I am not a mechanic but want to buy the pieces and then take it to a Mechanic in order to do the JOB.

As I am in south america buying a rebuilt engine form the US and forward it to my country will cost too much. so I want to buy the kits and pieces to have a local mechanic do the job. SO I need advice.

Is it posible to upgrade the 305 engine cheapily to bost some power and having a good gas milleage. I have drive a landau before and that things was extremely slow and weak, I wont race it but I want a enjoyable runing.

Old 01-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

The 305 was a decent engine, but the 350 is much more reliable and has more horsepower. It's a pretty common practice to replace that 305 with a 350. GM made millions of them and parts are cheap and plentiful new or used, in the U.S. or South America. IMO, you would be wise to take this route.

Old 01-08-2016, 11:07 AM
1 Year Member

Thanks a lot. I have been reading online and found that there are several 350 engines.

from the L65 with 145 hp to the L46 with 350 hp.

I found 2 gm 350 engines on sale, they look mmmmm..... used

MOTOR 350 CHEBROLET COMPLETO - Quito

Motor 350 para chevrolet 1980 - Quito