Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

2002 monte ls engine swap question!

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 10:47 PM
Default 2002 monte ls engine swap question!

I have a 2002 ls 3400 , first car im a young guy, wanted ss but insurance would of been high since im a new driver so went with an ls really wanting that power from ss 3800 , would an 3800 engine swap into mine be a problem, not wanting to buy monte ss just want the engine, do you ppl on the forum think i would run into problems anyone know any estimated costs for a 3800 series motor with decent miles and labor costs for a shop to install would it be around $1,000? And would my a/c and other things on my car stop working and stuff? Just need some info?

Old 06-19-2009, 04:30 AM

While i cant answer any of your questions, i can point you in the right direction for your parts
i would check with http://www.moradpartscompany.com/

They are a great bunch of guy's who really know their W-Body 3800 vehicles!

you can also check out their ebay store here http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Morad-Pa...__W0QQ_armrsZ1

Shameless plug, i hope i get a discount from them :Grin:

Old 06-19-2009, 10:21 AM

Dont know what the differences powerwise between the 3400 and the 3800 but I would think it would be more cost effective to check into maybe some bolt on's like intake or exhaust or possibly putting a computer chip in yours. Just my $.02

Old 06-19-2009, 01:02 PM

anyone know any estimated costs for a 3800 series motor with decent miles and labor costs for a shop to install would it be around $1,000?
You're going to get raped on labor if you take it to a shop, most overcharge for custom work like that. It will be a complete bolt in though, make sure you get the wiring and pcm too.

As for total price if you're having a place do all the work for you- the only place I know that has posted prices for said swap is here: