Detailing Discuss detailing your Monte Carlo inside and out here.

waxing and polishing

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2006, 06:31 PM
Default waxing and polishing

Excuse my ignorance
What is the opinion on how often one should wax?
I just waxed the monte this weekend using Mothers. Came out really nice looking, lasting power seems to be an issue as I have read on other posts so I will have to keep an eye on this.

What's the difference between a wax and polish and when would you apply each?
I've never used a polish before so this is new to me.

And while we are on the topic of finishes any ideas on how to cover up / repair stone chips in the hood and front bumper?

One other thing the rubber seal around my sun roof is all faded any recommendations on how to bring it back to life without damaging the rubber.

GWN

Old 05-08-2006, 08:01 PM
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- November 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default RE: waxing and polishing

First you should use some sort of paint prep or clay bar . Then use polish, then wax. Polish can remove fine scratches in the paint. Wax will last about 3-6 months depending on the wax. The wax protects and fills in any minor scratches that the polish doesn't get. I use the Pro meguiers line with an orbital buffer.

I have that same problems around the sunroof. Mothers makes a product called back to black, I have some (but its in my other car and its at the shop) so I havent been able to to try it.

Old 05-09-2006, 10:06 AM

Thanks,
I went and got a claybar and used it right after I read some posts about it. Never seen or used on before, was I surprised at what it picked up.

I'll have to get some polish for the next time.

Any suggestions on what to use between wax and polishings?

GWN

Old 05-09-2006, 12:31 PM
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- November 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member