Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > Your Ride > Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:09 PM
jackjeckel757's Avatar

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 15
Default '04 factory radio swap

I've got an '04 with a factory radio that has settings and options for the oil life and other stuff, what happens if I want to change to an aftermarket radio? Is there anything bad that will happen? How can I still access these settings without the factory radio?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:15 PM
03JGMonte's Avatar

Monte Of The Month - March 2010

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15,217
MBCustoms JGMonte03
Default

yeah u can still do the oil life with the gas peddle & the air monitor with the headlight switch
__________________
2003 MONTE CARLO SS JEFF GORDON EDITION



2006 CHRYSLER 300C SRT8 - 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 - 2012 FORD EDGE SPORT AWD

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:23 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 23,023
mikerogers.design ChibiBlackSheep mikerogersdesigns ChibiBlackSheep ChibiBlackSheep thismikerogers
Send a message via AIM to ChibiBlackSheep
Default

You can also rewire and mount the stock radio in the trunk if you wished.
__________________

Daily Driver - 2013 IOM Camaro 1LS | LFX and M6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2010, 12:28 AM

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackjeckel757 View Post
I've got an '04 with a factory radio that has settings and options for the oil life and other stuff, what happens if I want to change to an aftermarket radio? Is there anything bad that will happen? How can I still access these settings without the factory radio?
Some say yes, some say no. This is my experience on changing out the factory deck for aftermarket:

Install went smooth, used a Scosche GM09SR interface to wire up the new deck. About a week later my ABS and Brake lights came on unexpectedly. I shut the car down, started it back up, they went away but would randomly come on every few days or so. Then they would stay on...then the airbag light lit up and would stay on...then the "service traction system" message came up, then the battery light would come on, then the traction system shut down altogether, then I got a code that indicated a bad abs unit, then the brake pedal would "pop" and the battery light would light up when I would try to stop or slow down, then my blinkers stopped working, then I started getting a random starting issue where I'd turn the key and the lights in my cluster would shut off then come back on a second later but the engine wouldn't crank, then it wouldn't start unless I had the shifter in neutral, then it just wouldn't start at all......................see my point?

So what I did was first, removed the aftermarket deck and put stock back in and then took it to the shop and they replaced the shift selector switch and reset my ecu. It's been fine ever since, no more codes, no more starting issue, no more issues with anything. So what i'm doing now is ordering the relocation harness from bestkits so I can keep the factory deck hooked up but it will be in the trunk, then I'll put my aftermarket deck back in.

I highly suggest you do the same
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2010, 03:48 AM
Dbl_D718's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Morton, IL
Posts: 309
Default

I've never had a problem after removing my factory headunit, and neither have most others that have removed it altogether by using the appropriate module. I used the PAC module, but I don't remember the exact part number. I have to think that the timing of the above story with replacing the head unit is simply coincidental, as I've never heard of anything else like that, and most of the vehical's system mentioned aren't related to the factory headunit at all.

Remote mounting the factory unit in the trunk is an option though, and would be the only way to adjust settings such as for keyless entry. Resetting the oil change and tire pressure lights is possible without the factory unit, as described in your owner's manual.
__________________


Top Swap, Gen V 3.8", N* TB, XS Power Headers, ZZP Wires, NGK TR6s, 180* T-stat, Poly Upper Mounts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2010, 03:48 PM
jackjeckel757's Avatar

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 15
Default

Great info thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2010, 07:35 PM
RocknSS04's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,231
Default

Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2010, 08:09 PM
03JGMonte's Avatar

Monte Of The Month - March 2010

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15,217
MBCustoms JGMonte03
Default

well thats a pretty nice set up there
__________________
2003 MONTE CARLO SS JEFF GORDON EDITION



2006 CHRYSLER 300C SRT8 - 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 - 2012 FORD EDGE SPORT AWD

Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:09 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 99, aftermarket, carlo, factory, gm09sr, harness, install, monte, radio, relocation, reset, resetting, scosche, stock, trunk


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.