Crankshaft position sensor help - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:48 PM
Franks 03SS's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- September 2011
2011 Monte Of The Year
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 4,006
Default Crankshaft position sensor help

Wasssuuppp MCF!! Its been a good while....


long story short... ive been working 60 hours lately with this new job i got. i barely have time to do anything and get home exhausted so that explains why i rarely get on anymore im still here though, have a few mods coming soon for my monte so i'll update you guys on that


but for now i need some help lol
lately my monte has been randomly shutting off on me, and sometimes wont even start at all. i got 2 codes for the crank shaft position sensor so i need to get that replaced, but have a few questions first lol
how difficult is it to replace? (i do know i have to remove the crank pulley to get to it first )
also will i need to have a relearn procedure done? i ask those question because i want to tackle this challenge myself and save some $$$ :p

any help/tips will be greatly appreciated guys
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:50 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,854
Default

It's not very hard. You may want to see how to do a case relearn for your car though. Take off the crank pulley, remove the sensor, put the new one on there, reinstall crank pulley and you're done.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:52 PM
Franks 03SS's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- September 2011
2011 Monte Of The Year
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 4,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitehawkjcb View Post
It's not very hard. You may want to see how to do a case relearn for your car though. Take off the crank pulley, remove the sensor, put the new one on there, reinstall crank pulley and you're done.
does sound very easy!

i mainly want to know if i do or dont need a case relearn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:55 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,854
Default

I would say yes. Better safe than sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2012, 10:21 PM
Franks 03SS's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- September 2011
2011 Monte Of The Year
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 4,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitehawkjcb View Post
I would say yes. Better safe than sorry.
yea i guess youre right
will the car turn on after i install the new sensor? that way i can drive it to have it relearned
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2012, 10:37 PM
lougreen03's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 8,442
Default

Frank good to see you online. I found this maybe it will help. How to Align the Crankshaft Position Sensor in a Monte Carlo | eHow.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2012, 10:50 PM
Franks 03SS's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- September 2011
2011 Monte Of The Year
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 4,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lougreen03 View Post
Frank good to see you online. I found this maybe it will help. How to Align the Crankshaft Position Sensor in a Monte Carlo | eHow.com
Thanks Lou

I'm going to get a quote hopefully tomorrow after work and if it's reasonable I'll just take that route lol
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-31-2012, 09:19 AM
Franks 03SS's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- September 2011
2011 Monte Of The Year
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 4,006
Default

I finally got my CPS replaced! :p lol and best of all i didn't need a relearn procedure done
Before i got anything done i got a pretty good hello from my rotor thats what i get for trying to rush things


Bolt is a PITA to remove! My impact wasn't budging it all so i used the "redneck" way and it worked great >>> Removing a harmonic balancer bolt on a Buick 3800 V6 - YouTube <<<

after that I was stuck for a while trying to figure this out, as you can see there is no visible threads for the 3 bolts that are used on the puller


after some research i found my answer, the threads are actually inside of them holes so i had to run down to home depot for some grade 8 1/4" x 3" bolts and washers because the ones that come with the puller kit wont work :p came out pretty easy after that

i also went ahead and replaced my crank seal (old one in pic) while i was there, seems like my oil pan gasket is leaking a tiny but thats something i'll worry about when/if i replace my trans :p i cleaned up some of the mess it made


here you can see where the bolts go inside the holes

and what it looks like from behind


after all that was done i went ahead and replaced my sway bar end links which were in pretty bad shape :p


and my mess......

Last edited by Franks 03SS; 05-31-2012 at 09:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2016, 10:01 PM
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hawthorne, California
Posts: 29
Default Low Key Jealous

Good to see you were able to get your crank pulley off to change the crank position sensor. My mechanic was not able to remove the pulley. Too bad your not in L.A. I would hire you to change mine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2016, 11:30 AM
WBody's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 309
Default

Sorry I missed this one I could have saved you the time and sent you straight away to buy those bolts. Same thing on my 2000 Bonneville SSEi when replacing my crank sensor.

Glad to see you got it all replaced and going again though! Good looking car by the way.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPS Throtle Position Sensor help EJFX Monte Carlo Repair Help 6 07-24-2013 04:09 AM
Knock Sensor and Crankshaft sensor philly94ss Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 22 11-07-2011 02:27 PM
crankshaft position sensor, 2000 MonteCarlo 3.8L erik2282 Monte Carlo Repair Help 4 04-27-2009 04:32 PM
Will A Bad Crankshaft Sensor Cause A Monte Carlo to just Cut off In The Middle of Driving? motivation2k3 Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 1 09-04-2008 07:15 AM
Z34 crankshaft position sesnor jet404 Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 0 08-22-2005 12:51 AM


Tags
03, 2000, 2004, 93, cam, carlo, crankshaft, location, monte, monty, position, prelude, replace, replacement, sender, sensor, shaft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.