Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

Help!! Rusting away a beautiful car!

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2011, 04:07 PM
3 Year Member
Default Help!! Rusting away a beautiful car!

Just started to notice that my wheel well is starting to grow an unsightly rust spot. I have no clue what to do. My first thought was to sand it out and just go over it with bondo then paint over it with the oem touchup paint i bought previously. Now im not too sure. Im on a budget as i am a college student but still dont want to see why first car rot away while im here for another three years.

Anyone have any help?!

Much appreciated !

Here are some pics.

Old 05-31-2011, 05:03 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009
5 Year Member

Bondo will only make it worse. Cutting out the rust and replacing it with clean metal is the only real "fix" for it.

Old 05-31-2011, 05:38 PM

X2 the above, unfortunately... Wouldn't hurt to take it to a body shop for a evaluation/estimate, most will do that for free, then you know what you're looking at financially.

Mike

Old 05-31-2011, 07:25 PM
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- November 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

My 05 is starting to bubble there.

Old 05-31-2011, 07:40 PM

thats a common spot on these cars, yours is going to need new metal.

Old 05-31-2011, 07:46 PM
Taz

Monte Of The Month -- March 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

I also agree with Matt. I can see black plastic through that fender. Telling me it's all the way through in that one spot. A body shop will cut out the bad stuff, and weld in some fresh metal. Looking at your pictures, you're most likely going to lose part of your decals.