Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Door Handle popped off.

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 01:06 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Door Handle popped off.

So great story, I work as a valet in the worst part of Saint Louis this was bound to happen eventually: I have a 2001 Monte Carlo SS and after walking up to my car (parked off-lot) I noticed my door handle had been worked out via some sort of chisel or whatever tool low-lifes use to break into other people cars.

Now my locking mechanism won't engage/disengage on the driver side door. I've had the door off and noticed there's a (for lack of better term) "hook" that slides over the lock, and the rotation of the lock turns the hook and unlocks/locks the door. However I can't get it to stay on, my fob went for a swim, leaving me with my passenger side lock as the only way to lock/unlock my car from the outside. Thanks for that, lowlife.

My question(s) is/are:
Do I need a whole new door, or how do I get the hook-lock-mechanism to stay? Is there a back to it that's missing? If I were to just get a new door handle, how hard is it to switch everything out/install it, I mean it seems to be only two screws holding it on?

Last edited by STUMPMI; 04-25-2013 at 03:07 PM.
Old 04-25-2013, 01:11 PM

You mustve been down town, they got me too bro. I live in STL as well.

Edit: just pop open your door and relatch it, depends on damage though. Im fixing mine this weekend if I can get my hands on the tools.

Old 04-25-2013, 01:17 PM

Originally Posted by Hiroska
You mustve been down town, they got me too bro. I live in STL as well.

Edit: just pop open your door and relatch it, depends on damage though. Im fixing mine this weekend if I can get my hands on the tools.
Was at 21st and Locust. I've tried re-latching it, the longest it has lasted is a few good bumps.

Old 04-25-2013, 01:21 PM