Off Topic A place to kick back and discuss non-Monte Carlo related subjects. Just about anything goes.

the past five years of my life.

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 01:47 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Red face the past five years of my life.

Before i got this dream job, i did two years of O.C.M. BOCES (which is me going to highschool for half a day and then going to a seperate facility to work on cars for the rest of the day) that basically started my career choice out.

Then i went through a two year internship at tony rotellas body shop, it was a great experience although no money for two years with that .

Then through boces i heard about wyotech institute and went there for a year, i studied in...
-basic auto collision repair
-advanced auto collision repair
Both classes covered everything from buffing and detailing and painting to frame work and electrical, they covered everything.
-advanced street rod and custom fabrication
This class is strictly for cars from the 30's-79' and we learned all the oldschool techniques like using the english wheel, bead roller, leading, planishing hammer, pullmax, power hammer, "breaks", MIG, TIG, Stick and acetalyne welding. (let me tell you acetalyne welding is not to easy haha)
i also made a custom hood for a old 40's plymouth, that took about a couple of months because i was a baby in the industry at that point lol. also learned painting tricks like pinstriping, fading, stripes, etc. etc.
-advanced trim and upholstery
With this class i learned how to completely refinish interiors in cars such as, headliners suspension and non, dash boards, door panels, seats, carpet, and everything on the inside. i also learned how to fiberglass mold certain interior aspects such as dashes and kicker panels with speakers and what not. also welded a dash with gauges and all. sewing machines to embroidery and raised lettering.