Off Topic A place to kick back and discuss non-Monte Carlo related subjects. Just about anything goes.

Advice for a first time home buyer.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2009, 05:12 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2009
5 Year Member
Default Advice for a first time home buyer.

Well guys, I graduated highschool, went to trade school, now Im back making decent money. The next step for me is getting my own place. I dont want to rent, so Im looking at buying a home of my own. Ive never bought a house so Im new to the mortgage deal. If anyone has any advice, tips or usefully knowledge that may help me out, I would greatly appreciate it. Im going tomorrow to look at a house. Its a nice 3 bed, 1 bath 2 story house that seems to be reasonably priced. Should I look for anything out of the ordinary when inspecting this house? Its in town, but supposedly a nice part of town. Here is a link to the home. What do you guys think?
http://www.trulia.com/property/10704...ngton-PA-15301

Old 12-04-2009, 05:38 PM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2009
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

wow, thats a butifull little house, matt. i dont know much about home buying, i do know i love those post war houses, mostly for their nice layout, simple design, and most of all their build quality. i have seen brand new homes around here fall apart in a couple years, but those older homes were built to LAST.

scince its an older home, make sure there is no abspestos insulation on the basement pipes, or anywhere inside for that matter.

also, if the home has oil heat with an in-ground tank, ask the realtor / seller if & when the tank was replaced, to avoid potential problems from a rotted tank. my Grand-parents had to replace the one on my aunts 1927 cape cod before it could be sold, the seller might be obligated to do the same if nessisary

if ya wanna go crazy, make sure there is not abspestos shingles under the vinal siding. oh...