Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   New Member Area (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/new-member-area-4/)
-   -   Security issues. :/ (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/new-member-area-4/security-issues-47611/)

Chevrolet Fan 03-02-2014 01:20 PM

Security issues. :/

Hey guys.. and gals. I'm new to this whole website so I do apologize if I make a mistake on this thread. (if that's what it's called). Okay, so here is my problem.

-I had recently purchased a 2002 monte carlo LS from a guy that I know who is a mechanic. I drove it home and everything was fine, the next day when I get into the car, I try and start the car but it will just crank, nothing else. I am afraid of doing this too much because I do not want to burn out the starter.

-I have researched A BUNCH about these faulty security systems that GM put in many different make and models. But the odd thing about this issue is that most people's "Red/Yellow" security light will blink even AFTER their key is in the ignition, when I first get into my car the red light is blinking but after I put the key in the ignition the light no longer blinks, I turn the key to the "On" position I read, "SECURITY" on the message center.

-The odd thing about this issue is that most cars will still have the red/yellow light blinking even when their key is in the ignition, (I suppose meaning security system does not recognize the key).

-I have tried the 10 minute reset plenty of times and nothing seems to work.

-The guy I bought the car from said that he has ordered a new igntion switch and we will be putting it on tomorrow sometime, the problem is is how I am going to even get to his shop if the car will not start. I am REALLY hoping that the new ignition switch fixes the problem.

-If anyone has experienced this problem, any feedback would be much appreciated.

Scott_S 03-02-2014 08:47 PM

Hi,